Marking Messages as Deleted

When you request to delete messages, they are not getting deleted immediately. They are just getting \Deleted IMAP flag set.

However, if you enabled Purge Mailbox On Exit at your General Options , they will be permanently deleted from your inbox when you disconnect.

Also, please be aware, that other email clients which have access to your account may purge your messages without warning, so, use caution when marking messages as deleted.

You meay want to Archive messages, rather than deleting them (just say Archive, rather than Delete). Then, messages will be moved to Archive folder, specified with your email account settings, and marked as deleted at the same time. You won't be able to access your folders, other than Inbox with Sonus Mail at this point, but your messages will be safer.

Go Back